Unlike in Cub Scouts, Scouts BSA ranks are not earned based on which grade the scout is in, but rather based upon the achievements of each individual scout.

There are seven ranks in scouting:

  1. Scout
  2. Tenderfoot
  3. Second Class
  4. First Class
  5. Star
  6. Life
  7. Eagle

Each rank has its own requirements which must be fulfilled in order to advance.